Philippians 4:13 …

25 02 2009

“I … I can! … I can do! … I can do all things! … I can do all things through Christ! … I can do all things through Christ, who gives me strength!” 

Anyone who attended the Ohio state Church of God camp (Camp Marengo) in the late 80s knows this verse well, thanks to camp director Bob (you’ll have to forgive me for not remembering his last name).  It’s a verse that has stuck with me through the years.  It is a verse that has served me well.

Christ truly is the source of our strength.  When we put our faith in Him, seek His counsel, and allow Him to direct our lives, life is simply better, full of purpose, enhanced by His joy.

Where I faltered in my young adult life was in my focus of the “I can do!” part of the equation.  Overly confident in my own abilities, I failed to remember “through Christ” was the reality.  When my own abilities floundered, God in His mercy and grace revealed to me the error of my thinking, and drew me closer to Him.

Now painfully aware of my own weaknesses, I continue to remember this verse that has been with me since childhood.  I can do all things through Christ, who gives me strength, gives me joy, offers me forgiveness, covers me with His love, intercedes on my behalf, and presents me blameless to my Father. 

Through Christ, I can love and honor my husband all the days of my life.  Through Christ, I can care for my three young children, bringing them up in the ways of the Lord, so they do not stray from it.  Through Christ, I can serve my fellow man, following the greatest command to love my neighbors.  Through Christ, I can follow the call to serve in missions, no matter the difficult circumstances that befall me.  Through Christ, I can do all things.

“No reserves. No retreats. No regrets.” – William Borden

Actions

Information

One response

29 03 2009
Sarah Lapp

My dear daughter, you make my heart overflow with happiness and joy! You are most precious to your father and me. It is such a blessing to see how much you have grown in Christ over the past few years. We always knew you loved Him, but it’s even more evident now. You have helped to make our lives complete! Love always, Mom

Leave a Reply

